Convert a TBC Project into a Workspace
Use the Convert to Workspace function on the Start Page to convert a TBC project into a workspace, which makes your project data available in the selected Trimble Connectproject via the Trimble Desktop Utility (where you can also configure the workspace’s data storage location). Your connected TBC project VCE file is removed from its original location, but its data is still available to you (as part of the Trimble Connect project) via the Connected Workspace and Connected Project Explorer commands in TBC.
When you subsequently open this workspace, its data is checked out, preventing others from editing it concurrently. Changes you make are synchronized back to the Trimble Connect project when you save in TBC. Other people can also check the data out to edit from either TBC or Trimble Connect when the workspace is checked in. Trimble Connect displays the project/workspace in its File Explorer.
Prerequisites:
- See the Subscription Plans page. For a license matrix by command, see the License page in the TBC Community. Also see View and manage licensed features. TheConvert to Workspace function is not available for Perpetual license users.
- Trimble Connect account with a Trimble ID (TID) login to use the Connected Workspace. Visit connect.trimble.com to create a free or upgraded account.
To access the function:
- Make sure you are running TBC with a subscription license. Select Support > Start Pagein Startup.
To convert a TBC project into a workspace:
- On the Start Page, find the tile for the project you want to convert into a workspace.
- Click the blue Convert to Workspace button.
- Choose your locale in the <Select Region> list.
- Choose the project toconvert in the <Select Trimble Connect Project> list.
- Click the
Convert to Workspace icon. A Checked In message will appear, indicating that colleagues with access to this project/workspace can check it out to edit it.
Checking in/Checking out and versioning
Converting a TBC project uploads it to Trimble Connect, converting it from an 'offline'project to an 'online' project and workspace. This first check in creates version 1 (v1.0) of the connected project, which is now stored in Trimble Connect's data storage.
When you (or someone else using Trimble Connect) subsequently open the linked project, it will be tagged as Checked Out so others cannot edit it concurrently. When you/they check the project back in with changes, its version is incremented (e.g., v1.0 to v2.0). If you open TBC and see a Checked Out project, you wil not be able to open it until it is checked back in, which you have to do by clicking the Check In button on the Start Page afrer you close the project.
Connected Project Commands
With a TBC project converted into a workspace, commands that feature “connected” capabilities are active in the TBC interface. Before you convert, these commands are disabled (grayed out) with a message requesting:
"Convert your TBC project into a workspace..."